Paradise in Bali

_MG_5891doubleOh paradise..the sun, the palm trees, and fresh coconuts! I truly miss this about Indonesia. One hour and 30 minutes flight from Jakarta and you’re taken away to paradise. Bali has a very special place in my heart and I’ve loved this place since the first time I came here. My family and I took many vacations here when I was growing up. As an adult, my husband and I got engaged here and I’ve convinced my girl friends to also fall in love with this place when I took them to Bali 2 years ago. It’s not a surprise that this place has lots of sweet memories to me. This time I went with my brother and sister-in-law. Although we didn’t get to spend much time sunbathing, I was more than content to just be there, walk around, enjoy the weather, and the company.

offeringlogo

Bali is tremendously rich in culture – everywhere you go, you’ll see these traditional Balinese offerings. Balinese women and men make these hand woven leaves as a place for the offerings. They then put out these offerings in front of their home or stores every morning. In the Balinese culture, as well as in Hinduism, these offerings serve as offering for the Gods. The Balinese offerings are consisted of flowers, rice, incense, and crackers. They’re delightful to see and also very welcoming for non-locals. If you come here, make sure to watch your step and be very careful that you do not step on these very delicate and meaningful offerings.

_MG_5833logo

_MG_5821

There are many temples along the streets. I am always intrigued by the intricate details and carvings on these temples. _MG_5835logo

_MG_5836logo

_MG_5838logo

_MG_5870logo

Now let’s talk about food for a minute! One of my favorite spots to get food in Bali is Warung Made, also known as Made’s Warung. Don’t forget to get Bir Bintang and Nasi Campur Bali.

bintanglogo

nasicampurlogoThis is why I love Indonesian food. Most of the time, it is rice mixed in with many other veggies and some type of protein. One entree but you get to taste different types of side dishes!! This is a picture of the Nasi Campur Bali, which means Balinese mixed rice – it is a MUST!

20130723-222320.jpgLounging at Caccoon in Seminyak.

20130723-222157.jpg

20130723-222147.jpg

20130723-222135.jpg

20130723-222118.jpg

20130723-222052.jpg

I may be biased, but I would recommend this place for anyone. It’s filled with culture, it’s beautiful, tropical, and romantic, all at the same time. Whether you go with family or friends or a special person, I can promise you that you’ll also be taken away and hopefully would want to come back and explore other islands in Indonesia.

Leave a Reply

