Back to Basics

My parents and I went to Kampung Sampireun, a resort located in Garut, Indonesia. I had seen footages and pictures of this place as I was watching No Reservations: Indonesia, one of my most favorite shows from the Travel channel hosted by Anthony Bourdain. I wanted to go to a place I have not been to in Indonesia that is quiet, serene, and not so touristy. Kampung Sampireun is all quiet and serene, unless if you go during Indonesian holidays then I can only imagine how crowded this little quaint place would be. It took my father 5.5 hours to drive from Jakarta (with only little traffic) to get here. Apparently, the GPS would only give you small roads that are mostly unpaved. My advice to you is to take the longer route and to take bigger roads to get there instead. Although our way through the back roads was quiet bumpy, the view that I got to see there was unbelievably amazing. We passed rice fields after rice fields, mountains, and horse-drawn vehicles.

Image

Image

Image

When we arrived there, we were greeted by this beautiful small lake surrounded by villas and bungalows. After we checked in, the concierge took us to our bungalow by a canoe. Each bungalow that surrounded the lake has its own canoe to transport you from one place to another. You could also walk, but why walk when you could take a canoe? We got there late due to driving through the back roads but we got there right before sunset. We enjoyed the sunset sitting on the patio while eating Indonesian fried snacks with a cup of tea.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Since we had a late arrival the day before, we decided to wake up early to see the sunrise. It would be nearly impossible to sleep in anyways since you’d be woken up by the roosters’ crows. The sun rays reflected onto the lake was just so peaceful.Image

Image

Image

In the morning, we took a canoe ride and fed the fish!!Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

They provided us with Congklak or Mancala in our villa, which is a traditional Indonesian children’s game. I remember playing this game when I was growing up. I used to remember all the rules and all the right moves I needed to take to win.Image

For morning snack, the employees dropped off our snacks by a canoe. They go around one villa after another dropping off snacks or late-night desserts on a daily basis.

_MG_6296

Image

Our bungalow was straightforward – bed, small couch, bathroom, make up table, and a tiny TV.  This place is a little bit more modern now since they did not have a TV when my parents came here 4 years ago.

_MG_6423logo

Image

I love this mosquito net draped over the bed.Image

momlogo

A small pool at the resort.Image

orchid2logo

orchilogo

That afternoon, it was time to leave. I felt refreshed even after one day of staying there. The fresh air, beautiful weather, and quiet surroundings were all good for my little soul. It is now another favorite place of mine and I hope to get back here again one day. It is rare to be at a place where it is calm without cars, traffic, noise, and polluted air. I hope this place does not get too modernized in the future and that it continues to stay peaceful and calm. Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

